Parting is Such Sweet Sorrow

Reflecting on the highs and lows of this course is a task that brings a twinge of regret.  As I look ahead to the coming school year I am thankful to have been given the opportunity to participate in many of the wonderful courses that are part of the CIMS program.  I know that I am much better prepared to do battle with the students I will soon encounter.  I know that the training I have received will serve me well in the coming months and I am anxious to put many of the new skills and strategies I now have in my arsenal to the test.  This class was unique.  It challenged me in ways I did not anticipate.  It used technology in a way that brought the meaning of learning in the 21 century into clear focus.  I will take away many new ideas and many new tools from this course.    Perhaps the best part of the course was the way in which it recharged my batteries and made me see afresh why I want to teach math.

If there were lows they were insignificant.  Like a computer that chose to rebel or a piece of technology that was particularly confusing.  For the most part things went well and I amazed myself with my ability to actually make things work and complete assignments.

As far as changes are concerned I believe that the course must meet the needs of the students.  Sometimes it’s hard to know just what those needs are and the direction you start with must be adjusted.  The beauty of this course was that student input lead to change.  That was nice to see and I think everyone appreciated the flexibility of our very special instructor.   Again I want to express my gratitude for all the work that went into the creation of the course and I am sure that students who are lucky enough to enroll in this course in the future will also find it to be one of the highlights of their on-line education.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

